G7 imposes new sanctions on Russia

T + T- normal size

The White House announced today that the Group of Seven major industrialized countries imposed new sanctions on Russia for its crisis with Ukraine.

This announcement was preceded by videoconference talks between the leaders of the Group of Seven and the President of Ukraine, Volodymyr Zelensky..

According to the US government, the new sanctions target the Russian energy sector, which is important for financing the Russian war against Ukraine..

The announcement of the new sanctions comes ahead of Russia’s “Victory Day” celebrations tomorrow, which coincides with the 77th anniversary of the victory over Nazi Germany..

The White House added that all G7 countries pledged today to work to end the import of Russian oil or impose a ban..

The United States is reported to have already imposed such a ban on the import of Russian oil..

The countries of the European Union are negotiating in Brussels on the Russian oil embargo and the imposition of new sanctions on Russia, and a dispute recently arose over the establishment of exceptional rules for countries such as Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and Bulgaria, and the talks They are expected to resume next week..

A US government representative announced a ban on providing business services to companies and individuals in Russia, noting that the ban includes services, for example, in the field of accounting, management, consulting or marketing..

He added that the United States will also impose sanctions on the three major TV stations that are directly or indirectly under the control of Russian President Vladimir Putin’s government, which are Barfi Kanal, Russia-1 and NTW.

He explained that no US advertising solicitations would be sent for these “Kremlin trumpets”, and no US broadcast technology would be supplied to these stations..

The US government official added that the United States will continue to tighten its controls on exports to weaken the Russian war effort.

He said tighter controls would apply, for example, to wood products, industrial motors and diverters.

Sanctions will also be imposed on the directors of Russia’s largest and third-largest banks, Sberbank and Gazprombank.


Leave a Comment