Boston University Men’s Lacrosse Wins First Patriot League Title

college sports

The Terriers, who are in their ninth year, are headed to their first NCAA Tournament.

For the first time in program history, the Boston University men’s lacrosse team is headed to the NCAA Tournament.

The top-seeded Terriers, who are in their ninth year as a program, edged Army West Point, 14-10, on Sunday at Nickerson Field in the championship game to clinch their first Patriot League title. A thrilling 13-12 victory over Lehigh in the semifinals on Friday made it possible.

The roster features many local players: Jett Dziama (Natick, Noble and Greenough), Anthony Forziati (Wakefield), Jack Collins (Marblehead, Avon Old Farms), Zach Travaglini (Winchester, Belmont Hill), Stephen Gaskill III (Chelsea, Noble and Greenough), Jason Child (Needham), Alex Gainey (Westwood, St. Sebastian’s, Johns Hopkins), Trey Brown (Hopkinton, Belmont Hill), Harry Friedman (Newton, Middlesex), Patrick Morrison (Franklin) and Brian Garrity (Norwell ).

Timmy Ley led the way with 4 goals against Army, Roy Meyer collected 7 ground balls and caused 6 turnovers, and Matt Garber made 15 saves. The Terriers built a 7-5 halftime lead and used a 5-2 third quarter to take control before holding off the Black Knights late.

No. 16 BU will meet his top seed and NCAA Tournament opponent during the selection show, which airs Sunday at 9 pm on ESPNU.

Leave a Comment